Battlebots
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Battlebots

A new forum for battlebots enthusiasts, competitors, and fans.

HomeLatest imagesRegisterLog inBuilders DB

3lb design and questions.

Go down 
+4
Koolaid64
Cody
rdubard
jolijar
8 posters
Go to page : 1, 2  Next
AuthorMessage
jolijar

People Skills : 4890
Registration date : 2010-11-21

3lb design and questions. Empty
PostSubject: 3lb design and questions.   3lb design and questions. I_icon_minitimeSun Nov 21, 2010 3:49 pm

Hello. I have been lurking for awhile and decided it was time to sign up.
I am currently designing my first battlebot. I have lots of experience with R/C gear and a little in manufacturing. I decided that I wanted to build a 3lb robot. I have several questions before I get too far along in the design process.

What materials do people usually use for armor on their robots?
How thick?
roughly how much of the weight of the robot should be armor?

I am designing a 4 wheel wedge with a small lifting fork (think panic attack)

My budget is $500 for the robot / spare parts
I already have a suitable radio.

3lb design and questions. Dooma

This is what I have designed so far. SW says it weighs in at 2.14 lbs
the sides are made of 1/4" 6061 Aluminum and the top and bottom are 1/8" high impact acrylic
the motor shafts wont stick out I just haven't trimmed them yet.

I am using 4x
Banebots 10:1, 25mm Spur Gearmotor, FF-180 Motor
and Banebots 1 7/8 wheels
I

It is missing the following components
Bearings for motor support
ESC
Battery
Receiver
Wedge
Lifter

I know I am going to be overweight so I suspect that I have overbuilt the frame.
this design is more than likely destined for the recycle bin but I figured I would show it to you guys and ask for your expert advice.

Back to top Go down
rdubard
mega contributor
mega contributor

People Skills : 5903
Registration date : 2009-06-10