Battlebots
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Battlebots

A new forum for battlebots enthusiasts, competitors, and fans.

HomeLatest imagesRegisterLog inBuilders DB

Help a teacher who wants to start a battle bot competition

Go down 
4 posters
AuthorMessage
kmcghee

People Skills : 4595
Registration date : 2011-09-04

Help a teacher who wants to start a battle bot competition Empty
PostSubject: Help a teacher who wants to start a battle bot competition   Help a teacher who wants to start a battle bot competition I_icon_minitimeSun Sep 04, 2011 1:09 am

I am a high school shop teacher, I have been building sumo bots with my students for a couple of years now at a junior level, nothing fancy, modified bots in the sense that they are not automatic they are controlled by tethered remote, which the students build. These students are now seniors and want to build battle bots and fight each other. I am interested depending on the cost and need some help in order to start, any help, advice will be gladly taken, specifically I am looking for:

1.) Are there different classes of battlebots and if so what class should I focus on, ie What size should the robots be, what is too small or too big.
2.) What kind of motors should I use to move the bot(this is the major cost factor for the program, I don't know if it is possible to keep the cost around 20 bucks a motor)
3.) What RPM should the drive motors spin at to move the robot ( I have heard 20RPM is ideal, is this true, I want a zippy robot but one that is still controllable)
4.) To make it clear these will still have to be tethered, if I can prove it to be a viable option I might get funding for remotes in the future.
5.) What kind of motor should be used to drive weapons if applicable.

Any suggestions and help would be appreciated.

Also, I certainly have to build my own to battle the kids, what design do you suggest to build that would be unbeatable Laughing