Battlebots
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Battlebots

A new forum for battlebots enthusiasts, competitors, and fans.

HomeLatest imagesRegisterLog inBuilders DB

machining steel

Go down 
2 posters
AuthorMessage
crowconor

crowconor

People Skills : 5017
Registration date : 2010-11-06

machining steel Empty
PostSubject: machining steel   machining steel I_icon_minitimeSun Nov 07, 2010 8:36 pm

what do you guys use for spindle speeds, feed rate, and max depth per cut on a mild steel with a 1/2 bit
Back to top Go down
rdubard
mega contributor
mega contributor

People Skills : 5925
Registration date : 2009-06-10

machining steel Empty
PostSubject: Re: machining steel   machining steel I_icon_minitimeMon Nov 08, 2010 6:13 am

First, let me caution you that I am completely self-taught in these matters, and I immediately defer to an actual machinist like rjw if they disagree. Also, it is worth your time learn how all this fits together, but I'm not gonna go into that right now. (Maybe another post some other day)

I will double check this from my charts when I get to school today, but my conservative calculations are as follows:

Assume 4 flute High Speed Steel endmill. Also I'm just gonna recommend mist lube/coolant, even though I do not know if the online charts I got my info from make that assumption. If you've got flood coolant or are using carbide endmills, I'm pretty sure you could go much faster. If you are using 2 flute, then the table speed should be half what appears below.

.250inch depth of cut

750rpm spindle, with table moving at 4.5 inches per minute.

If you decide to go faster, first increase the spindle speed, then increase the table feed. Faster spindle speeds create heat, and higher table feeds increase forces on the tool, part, and machine.

The numbers from above come from a surface speed of 100 feet per minute and a chip thickness of .0015, both of which are pretty low estimates.