Battlebots
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Battlebots

A new forum for battlebots enthusiasts, competitors, and fans.

HomeLatest imagesRegisterLog inBuilders DB

materials pros and cons?

Go down 
+2
Koensig
Amanda
6 posters
AuthorMessage
Amanda

Amanda

People Skills : 4510
Registration date : 2012-02-03

materials pros and cons? Empty
PostSubject: materials pros and cons?   materials pros and cons? I_icon_minitimeFri Feb 03, 2012 6:58 pm

so this is my first year in robotics, and I wanted to see your thoughts on the different types of materials used between weapons, body, and armor.. For the most part, the only metals I'm familiar with are steel, aluminum, titanium, and this UHMW plastic, though I don't know much about the pros and cons of them all... Any particular thoughts?
Back to top Go down
https://facebook.com/neonblueneon
Koensig

People Skills : 4904
Registration date : 2011-02-25

PostSubject: Re: materials pros and cons?   materials pros and cons? I_icon_minitimeSat Feb 04, 2012 7:35 pm

Hi,

I'm kinda new but I do know some stuff about this.

It really depends on what weight class you are going into.

Also here is a link to an argument I had about titanium vs aluminum on a beetleweight.

Titanium VS Aluminum
Back to top Go down
rdubard
mega contributor
mega contributor

People Skills : 5932
Registration date : 2009-06-10

PostSubject: Re: materials pros and cons?   materials pros and cons? I_icon_minitimeSun Feb 05, 2012 10:18 am

I'll state the obvious (and oversimplified):