Battlebots
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Battlebots

A new forum for battlebots enthusiasts, competitors, and fans.

HomeLatest imagesRegisterLog inBuilders DB

Help Choosing ESC

Go down 
+3
MikeNCR
Koensig
vaiger
7 posters
AuthorMessage
vaiger

People Skills : 4277
Registration date : 2012-07-16

Help Choosing ESC Empty
PostSubject: Help Choosing ESC   Help Choosing ESC I_icon_minitimeMon Jul 16, 2012 10:30 am

Greetings from a new member in TN. I am very new to combat robots and stumbled across this forum. I am helping my son with a 3lb fighting robot, and we are getting smacked around by the learning curve. We are using the 1000 rpm brushed hobby motors commonly available on ebay. I was hoping to get a Bane Bots 3-9 ESC, but they have been out of stock for a long time. I tried a cheap Turnigy 10A ESC, but it is not working. Can anyone suggest an alternative to the BB 3-9 for my application?
Back to top Go down
Koensig

People Skills : 4875
Registration date : 2011-02-25

Help Choosing ESC Empty
PostSubject: Re: Help Choosing ESC   Help Choosing ESC I_icon_minitimeMon Jul 16, 2012 11:11 am

There are many small ESCs that you can use. I use Robot Marketplace to find my escs. http://www.robotmarketplace.com/products/speed_controllers_main.html
I have a beetleweight and I use the sabertooth 5 controller. I have also used the banebots 3-9 and the Fingertech Tiny Esc. The sabertooth 5 is a dual channel controller meaning that you only need one of it while the 3-9 and Tiny ESCs are single channel which means you need 2 of them. I would reccomend the Tiny ESCs over the banebots.
Back to top Go down
MikeNCR
super contributor
super contributor
MikeNCR

People Skills : 5803
Registration date : 2009-04-27

Help Choosing ESC Empty
PostSubject: Re: Help Choosing ESC   Help Choosing ESC I_icon_minitimeMon Jul 16, 2012 11:14 am